Flock: Multi Pet Meds

Free Pet Medication Apps vs Paid Household Plans: What You Actually Get

Can you get a shared pet medication log for free?

Yes, for a small household. As of October 2026, Pet Feeder App is free and lets you share pets with up to 3 family members, and PetPilot is free and shows who logged each event. Once you have many pets, a sitter, or you want a log built around "who gave the pill," sharing usually moves behind a subscription. That's the trade-off this article explains. I checked the iPhone store listings below; listings change, so confirm limits before you commit.

CriteriaPet Feeder AppPetPillPetPilotFlock
CostFree, ad-supportedFree tier + ProFreeFree download + Household plan
Pets on free tierUp to 3 profiles1 pet, 1 medicationNot statedNot stated on listing
SharingUp to 3 family membersPro only (iCloud)iCloud / Family SharingHousehold plan
Shows who logged a doseNotifies membersNot confirmedYes, plus timestampsYes, name and time
Unlimited petsNo (3 profiles)ProNot statedYes, Household plan
Main focusFeeding trackerMedicationGeneral pet careMedication and care log

What do free apps actually give you?

Free apps cover one household's basic needs, with limits on people or pets.

A free app is enough if you have one or two pets, one or two caregivers, and mostly need a reminder. The cap is on people (3 family members in Pet Feeder) or on pets, not on price.

Where does sharing move behind a paywall?

In several medication-focused apps, sharing is the paid feature.

The pattern is consistent: one pet and one person is free, and the "whole family sees it" feature costs money.

What does Flock's Household plan include?

Flock: Multi Pet Meds is a free download. Its Household plan is an auto-renewing subscription, billed monthly or yearly, with a 7-day free trial on the yearly plan for new subscribers. The listing shows Household Monthly at $9.99, Household Yearly at $49.99, and a Household Lifetime purchase at $79.99. The listing doesn't state how many pets the free version allows.

What the plan covers, per the listing:

Flock states plainly that it isn't a vet diagnosis app. It logs and reminds; it doesn't give medical or dosing advice.

Where Flock is strongest is the exact problem in the search: "did someone already give the pill?" The shared log and timeline are the product, and pet count isn't a limit once you're on Household. Where it isn't the best pick: it has 0 public ratings so far, it's a new app (first released September 2026), and if your needs fit a free tier, a free app costs less. Pet Care's listed prices also look lower.

How do you decide between free and paid?

Ask three questions.

  1. How many pets? One to three pets fits free tiers such as Pet Feeder's 3-profile cap. Four or more, or a mix of pets with different meds, is where "unlimited pets" starts to matter.
  2. How many people give meds? Pet Feeder's cap is 3 family members. A couple plus teenagers plus a sitter can pass that. Check this before you invite anyone.
  3. How bad is a missed or doubled dose? For a chronic medication given twice a day, a clear "given by Sam at 7:42 a.m." matters more than a low price. Screenshots for Flock show examples like carprofen, methimazole and heartworm prevention. Only your vet can tell you about dosing; the app just records what you gave.

Also check phones. These apps are iPhone-focused, and several share through iCloud, so a family member on Android won't be able to join. I didn't verify Android availability for any app here.

What's the no-app option?

A shared Google Sheet or a shared Apple Note works on any phone and costs nothing. Use columns for date, time, pet, medication, dose and who gave it. The weakness is that nothing nudges anyone: there are no reminders, no "due now" view, and people forget to write the entry down, which defeats the purpose.

Recommendation by use case

Details checked against store listings in October 2026. Prices and limits change, so confirm them on the listing before subscribing.

Download on the App Store